No bun no fun?

Easy meals are what keep you going through the long work week. Delicious, intricate meals can be nice, but who really has time for them after a day of work? Not this lady! Most of the things that I cook throughout the week are simple meals that I throw together. To be honest with you, I rarely use recipes. I throw a little bit of this and a little bit of that into my meals until I think it is seasoned enough. And I usually know what flavors go with what. You don’t want Allspice in your Mexican tacos!  That is just the way I learned how to cook. I grew up sitting in the kitchen with my grandmother better known as my Mawmaw. I was amazed at how well she knew her way around her kitchen. She tossed in spices here and there, and I never once saw her use measuring spoons or measuring cups! But every meal turned out amazing! When I got older, I would recreate her dishes from taste alone. Not enough garlic? Add more! Still needs more cumin? Add more! And the smell! I knew when I threw in garlic and onion into my pan before making my Mawmaw’s Spanish rice, that I was on the right track. So, writing down my recipes is something fairly new to me. My husband begs me to recreate some of his all time favorite meals and this one right here is a definite favorite of his!

The first thing you might notice from my pictures is that there is no bun to my delicious Cilantro, Jalapeño hamburgers! And thats for a very good reason. About four years ago, my husband and I went low carb. If you aren’t familiar with the low carb way of eating, its pretty simple. No potatoes. No bread. No rice. No grains. You eat a diet high in protein and load up on a plethora of vegetables and some fruits. My energy levels skyrocketed, I lowered my blood pressure, and dropped some weight. We haven’t looked back since! It took some time to adjust to eating my hamburgers without a bun and eating gumbo without the rice. But it was well worth it. I now fill my body with wholesome foods that fuel my body instead of filling it with foods that weighed me down.

Feel free to adjust the amount of jalapeño if you are not a fan. We didn’t think they were spicy but my husband and I have a high tolerance for spice! And feel free to click on the pictures for a larger view. These hamburgers can easily be eaten with a bun but I challenge you to try them how I made them. There wasn’t a bun but they were oh so delicious!

20140407_182526

20140407_190131

20140407_190210

20140407_191655

Bunless Cilantro, Jalapeño Hamburgers

1 pound lean grass fed ground beef

1/4 cup finely diced onion

1/4 cup chopped organic cilantro

1/4 cup finely chopped pickled jalapeño

1/4 cup almond flour ( I find this in the bulk section at Sprouts or HEB)

1 large egg

1 teaspoon Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning or any other creole seasoning

1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

1 to 2 tablespoons of olive oil for cooking

Toppings:

1 avocado, sliced

slices of cheese ( I used El Viajero Asadero cheese but cheddar or jalapeño jack cheese would work well also)

enough cabbage leaves for each burger

Directions:

  1. Combine the first eight ingredients together in a mixing bowl. Mix together well and set aside so that they meat can reach room temperature.
  2. Heat a heavy skillet on medium heat and add one tablespoon of olive oil.
  3. Form meat into 1/2 inch thick patties and set in pan. Cook for three minutes and flip. Cook for additional three minutes or until a meat thermometer reaches  160 degrees.
  4. Once cooked, set on plate and place cheese on top of cooked patty.  Continue until each patty is cooked. Cover the patties with another plate or a top to a pan so the cheese can melt slightly.
  5. Serve on cabbage leave and top with sliced avocado
  6. Sit down and enjoy a flavor packed bun-less cheeseburger!
Leave a Reply

