Almond flour cranberry, chocolate chip cookies

Four years ago my husband and I chose to change our eating habits. Since then, we haven’t looked back! We went low carb which meant I was no longer able to indulge in traditional desserts as often as I would have liked. Diabetes runs in my family, and I made the responsible choice of eliminating as much refined sugar from my diet as possible. This doesn’t mean I do not occasionally indulge in a cookie or piece of cake. Life is all about balance! And I think that if I eat 90% healthier foods, then I can treat myself to 10% of the naughty foods!

Over the past few years I have discovered the delicious art of gluten free baking! It has been a delight to know that I can still create and make delicious cookies, cakes, brownies, and cheesecakes using lower carb and gluten free ingredients. My favorite alternative to All purpose white flour, which is very refined and holds no nutritional value, has been almond flour! Almond flour is basically blanched almonds that are ground into a fine flour. I have made my own in a coffee bean grinder but I choose to buy it in the bulk section of Sprouts, HEB and occasionally, Whole Foods. I have found the best prices in the bulk section at Sprouts. I use the almond flour to replace breadcrumbs in meatloaf, meatballs, cookies, cake, and many other dishes! To say I love almond flour would be an understatement. I am obsessed! And don’t get me started on coconut flour! I will save that for another post!

Okay enough with the writing! Get to the cookies, right? These are simple to make and require ingredients that most of you have in your kitchen, except for possibly, the almond flour. But like I said before, its fairly easy to find in Austin, at least. These can be made with less sugar if you wish to use a sugar substitute instead of the white sugar. I would suggest looking for Ideal brand sugar substitute.  Enjoy these with a cup of coffee or a cold glass of milk.

 042

049

050

051

052

053

054

055

056

063

068

Almond Flour Cranberry, Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients: (makes about 12 cookies)

1 1/2 cups almond flour

1/4 cup butter, room temperature

1/4 cup sugar (or Ideal brand sugar substitute)

1 egg, room temperature

1/4 teaspoon Himalayan pink salt

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup dark or semi sweet mini chocolate chips

1/4 cup dried cranberries (no sugar added or sweetened with apple juice)

Directions:

  1. Preheat over to 375 degrees F.
  2. Cream butter and sugar together in stand mixer or with a hand mixer
  3. Add in the egg and vanilla. Mix well. Be sure to scape down the sides so the butter mixture mixes well with the egg and vanilla.
  4. Once the wet ingredients are well mixed, add in the almond flour, salt and baking soda. Mix until combined.
  5. Fold in the chocolate chips and cranberries by hand.
  6. Using a tablespoon, scoop out dough and form into a ball. Place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Place cookies about 2 inches apart.
  7. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly golden brown.
  8. Allow cookies to cool for a few minutes before placing them on a cooling rack.

 

Leave a Reply

