Curry Chicken Salad

I love food. All kinds of food! I love Tex-Mex, Cajun, Thai, Vietnamese, Lebanese, Greek and Indian! I have always been one to try new foods because you never know what wonder new flavors you will fall in love with. I enjoy bringing different flavors into my own kitchen and seeing what I can come up with! This simple, flavorful meal is one that I stumbled upon awhile back. Its incredibly easy to throw together and requires NO cooking. Yes, you read right! No cooking. Don’t get me wrong. I love to cook and bake, but occasionally I like to take a break from the heat and put something simple together. And in Texas, our summers are killer. 100+ degrees for a few months, and I eventually dread turning on my oven. Not only is this delicious but its also good for you! I prefer to place my chicken salad over spinach greens instead of using bread. Spinach is high in omega-3 fatty acids which help deter inflammation. Its also a great source of Niacin, and folic acid as well as vitamin A, vitamin K, vitamin C and magnesium! Spinach is a great way to get in some of your much needed vitamins and minerals (see link for more information). I also decided to add turmeric to this easy curry chicken salad. Its health benefits are amazing to say the least. And whether you believe it or not, what can it hurt? It adds color, a slight earthy flavor as well as numerous health benefits (see link for more information). I hope to do more variations of the classic chicken salad again soon! Give this curry chicken a try and let me know what you think!

Curry Chicken Salad

Image

Image

Image

Image

Ingredients: (4 servings or 2 if you are very hungry)

4 cups chopped store bought rotisserie chicken, deboned

1/4 cup raw carrots, diced

1/4 cup red onion, finely diced

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1/4 cup mayonnaise for lightly moistened chicken, 1/2 cup for creamier chicken salad ( I used 1/4 cup)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon fresh, ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon Indian curry powder (add more if you want a stronger curry flavor)

1/4 teaspoon dried turmeric powder

1 cup organic, raw baby spinach per serving

Instructions:

  1. Place all of the ingredients, except for the raw spinach,  into a large mixing bowl. Stir until well combined.
  2. Place one cup of raw spinach on a plate. Take one cup of the combined chicken salad and place it over the spinach leaves.
  3. See! Simple and easy! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

